Van Allen House and Stream House
The Van Allen House is a Dutch stone house built in 1748 by Henry Van Alen (or Hendrick Van Ale). It is located at the corner of Ramapo Valley Road and Franklin Avenue. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places most notably for its architectural significance and its connection to the Revolutionary War. Documents show that George Washington and his troops stopped at the Van Allen House on July 14, 1777 on their way to West Point.Along with other damages the house has two major roof leaks which demand our immediate attention. These leaks must be repaired in order to keep out the elements and protect the precious objects within. Ramapough Conservancy is in the process of applying for grants to repair the roof.
The Stream House, also known as the Vygeberg Farm Office Building, is another significant building located on the same site as the Van Allen House. Edward Page built the Stream House in 1902 as the office for his dairy farm. Page was one of the area’s wealthiest businessmen and served as the mayor of Oakland for a period of time. This building is unique because the stone foundation was built directly over a stream. This allowed the basement to act as a cool storage space for dairy products. This building went through several other uses including Oakland's first public library. These buildings are both extremely significant to Oakland's history and need to be preserved. The Ramapough Conservancy has signed a lease with the Borough of Oakland for the property, so we can begin restoring the property. Currently we are researching and applying for grants to raise the necessary funds to restore both of these buildings.